Subject Guides: Physical Education and Health: PEDS 209

A starting poll to see where we're at!

Presently, what is MOST unclear about creating a literature review?

Understanding what exactly it is

Finding relevant articles

Tracking, synthesizing, & organizing information from multiple sources

Identifying gaps in the research

Citing sources correctly

Understanding what exactly it is: 14 votes (53.85%)

Finding relevant articles: 5 votes (19.23%)

Tracking, synthesizing, & organizing information from multiple sources: 4 votes (15.38%)

Identifying gaps in the research: 3 votes (11.54%)

Citing sources correctly: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 26

Concepts and Keywords

Once you have a research interest/question, it is important to identify its key concepts. These will serve as the keywords for your library searches.

Keywords are usually nouns
Avoid words that indicate quality (good, bad, effective) or quantity (more, less)

Once you have identified the key concepts, identify some alternate keywords for the key concepts.

Brainstorm synonyms of key concepts (e.g., dictionary, thesaurus)
Related resources can be used to find more keywords (e.g., search library records, titles, abstracts for useful terms)

As you gather keywords, you can create a concept chart (or logic grid) for your search.

ACTIVITY 2: Construct a Logic Grid with a Sample PICO Questions

https://tinyurl.com/PEDS209LogicGrid

For SPORTDiscus and PsycINFO

Try different search tricks: " " / AND / * / ( OR )
Explore different limiters
Which seems to give better results for your topic?

For Google Scholar

Place " " around key concepts > "sports" "university" "health"
Use the date limiter
Are you pulling up useful results?

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Contains information on the topics of physical education, recreation and leisure studies, international sport and fitness, and other sport disciplines including sports medicine, physical therapy, sport psychology, exercise physiology, and dance. Includes access to journal and magazine articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, and web sites.
Coverage and Currency: 1930 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
PsycINFO
Provides citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in the field of psychology and behavioural science. Also covers the psychological aspects of the following related disciplines: medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, sport, business, and law.
Coverage and Currency: 17th century to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Post-session, how are you feeling?

What remains MOST unclear about creating a literature review?

Understanding what exactly it is

Finding relevant articles

Tracking, synthesizing, & organizing information from multiple sources

Identifying gaps in the research

Citing sources correctly

Understanding what exactly it is: 0 votes (0%)

Finding relevant articles: 0 votes (0%)

Tracking, synthesizing, & organizing information from multiple sources: 0 votes (0%)

Identifying gaps in the research: 0 votes (0%)

Citing sources correctly: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 0

Physical Education and Health

Profile V2

PEDS 209 Library Session

A starting poll to see where we're at!

Concepts and Keywords

For SPORTDiscus and PsycINFO

For Google Scholar

Post-session, how are you feeling?