Subject Guides: Data and Statistics: Canada

2021 Census

Find latest data from the 2021 Census

Data Liberation Initiatieve (DLI)

The Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) is a subscription-based program that provides access to Statistics Canada's Public Use Microdata files (PUMFs), databases, and geographic files in accordance with their licensing agreement. These files can be accessed directly through Statistics Canada or through a number of third party interfaces.

Rich Data Services (Statistics Canada) This link opens in a new window
Rich Data Services (RDS) is Statistics Canada’s analytical platform for Public Use Microdata files (PUMFs) and their metadata. Use the RDS Explorer to browse the data records, create custom extracts by filtering records and selecting variables, and produce personalized open data packages for download.
ODESI This link opens in a new window
Consists of a digital repository for social science data, including polling data. It is a web-based data exploration, extraction and analysis tool providing access to datasets with content from Statistics Canada, the Institute for Social Research, public opinion polls, and more.
Coverage and Currency: 1950 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Census Analyser This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Canadian Census data. Subject areas include age, education, income, occupation, religion, language, ethnic origin, and family and household characteristics. It includes access to enumeration area level profile tables, census tract level profile tables, provincial and federal district profile tables, and individual microdata files. Output is in HTML, plain text, CSV (for Excel), SAS, or SPSS.
Coverage and Currency: 1961 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
SDA@CHASS This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Canadian, American, and international microdata. Includes Canadian census data and topics such as social sciences, population health, economics, and more.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
CANSIM@CHASS This link opens in a new window
This database compiles time series data from Statistics Canada on a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life, including agriculture, business, education, and tourism.
Coverage and Currency: 1665 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

The following resources are available by mediated access only. Contact data@macewan.ca to get more information and gain access.

Postal Code Conversion File (PCCF) (Link provides information only, no data access)
PCCF allows you to link postal codes to census geography for all censuses going back to 1986. Mediated access only, contact data@macewan.ca for access.
CIHI Discharge Abstract Database (Link provides information only, no data access)
The DAD captures administrative, clinical and demographic information on hospital discharges (including deaths, sign-outs and transfers). Mediated access only, contact data@macewan.ca for access.
The Social Policy Simulation Database and Model (SPSD/M) (Link provides information only, no data access)
The SPSD/M is a micro computer-based product designed to assist those interested in analyzing the financial interactions of governments and individuals in Canada. It can help one to assess the cost implications or income redistributive effects of changes in the personal taxation and cash transfer system. The SPSD is a non-confidential, statistically representative database of Canadian individuals in their family context, with enough information on each individual to compute taxes paid to and cash transfers received from government.
Real Time Remote Access (RTRA) (Link provides information only, no data access)
RTRA is an online tool that allows users to run SAS programs in real time to extract results from Statistics Canada master files. RTRA users do not gain direct access to microdata and cannot view the microdata files. RTRA users can calculate frequencies, means, percentiles, percent distribution, proportions, ratios, and shares.

Canadian Statistics

Statistics Canada
Canada's national statistics collection agency. Search or browse by subject to find statistics.
Canadian Census
Access the most recent census of population and archived past censuses beginning with 1996.
Census Data Viewer
Web-based data visualization tool to explore and manipulate 2016 Canadian census data.
Statistics by Government Department or Agency
Directory of statistical information from federal government departments and agencies.
Open Data Canada Portal
Search and browse freely available data from the Government of Canada.

Historical Canadian Statistics

Statistics Canada Historical Resources InfoGuide
This guide lists sources of historical statistics produced by Statistics Canada and its predecessor agencies. The guide also lists sources of information about the history of the Canadian census, surveys and statistical programs, and Statistics Canada.
Historical Canadian Statistics
Over 1000 statistical tables on the social, economic and institutional conditions of Canada from 1867 to the mid-1970s.
Historical Census of Canada (1665-1871)
343 tables on the social and economic conditions in Canada from the earliest settlements to 1871.

Data and Statistics

Profile V2

2021 Census

Find latest data from the 2021 Census

Data Liberation Initiatieve (DLI)

Canadian Statistics

Historical Canadian Statistics