Offers Kindergarten to Grade 12 teachers, students and their parents access to online resources including Electric Library Canada Plus, Electric Library Canada Elementary, SIRS Discoverer, Grolier Online and Canadian Encyclopedia.
Description: Alberta Learning makes available the following licensed online references for use by students, parents and teachers at home and in school: Electric Library Plus and Electric Library Elementary - Access pictures, maps, newspapers, newswires, reference books, works of literature, magazines and transcripts; Grolier Online - Access six encyclopedia databases (New Book of Knowledge, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia Americana, Encyclopedia of Popular Science, Nueva encyclopedia Cumbre en linea, and Encyclopedia of Lands and People); SIRS Discoverer - Access a children's research database of full-text articles in 15 topic areas including animals, arts, health, notable people, sports and more; and the Canadian Encyclopedia. Coverage and Currency: Updated regularly. Type: Full text. Access: Username/password access is restricted to Grant MacEwan University students in Education-focused programs, or with the guidance of Reference Services staff. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information. Supplier: Alberta Learning