Subject Guides: Theatre Production: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Handbooks -- Online

The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre
This concise version of the acclaimed Oxford Companion to the Theatre covers all aspects of theatre worldwide and throughout the ages. It contains entries on a vast range of theatrical styles, dramatists, performers, and directors, as well as information on theatres, festivals, and such technical topics as lighting, sound, and method acting.

The Methuen Drama dictionary of the theatre
The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance
Covers styles and movements, organizations, regions and traditions. This companion has a particularly strong focus on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Comprised of Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other reference and image resources.
Access: Access limited to 11 simultaneous users and Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

History Resource Center: World
Resources covering the Ancient Mediterranean, Ancient Near East and Asia, as well as the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, modern Middle East and Latin America.
more...less...
Description: Contains over 1500 primary sources, 35 secondary sources, full text articles from over 100 journals, and over 1600 historical maps and atlases.
Coverage and Currency: Variable, depending on resource type.
Type: Partial full text.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Supplier: Thomson Gale

Cambridge Companions to Music This link opens in a new window
Provides information on composers, instruments, or musical topics written for students and performers. This collection contains specially-commissioned essays written by authorities in the field of music.
Coverage and Currency: I1992 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

General E-reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo provides access to subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials on a variety of topics and supports the development of information literacy skills through instructional articles and videos.
Coverage and Currency: 1999 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic reference books, primarily related to English Literature, but also including titles from Science and History. Includes the entire series of Novels for Students, Drama for Students, Short Stories for Students, and Poetry for Students, in addition to encyclopedias from other subject areas.
Coverage and Currency: 1997 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Contains dictionary entries from a short, general reference format to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. Includes detailed information across a broad subject range from the Oxford Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of other publishers’ scholarly works.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Provides students with a series of essays, videos, and images that present multiple sides of a current issue. It also offers guides to debating, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
Coverage and Currency: 20th century to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Theatre Production

Profile V2

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Handbooks -- Online

General E-reference Sources