Subject Guides: Physical Education and Health: PERL 204

PERL 204 Library Session

Students will be assigned one of two sample topics: (1) Edmonton Grads & (2) Harry Jerome.

Topic 1: The Edmonton Grads

Topic 2: Harry Jerome

Instruction:

To prepare for either option, skim both encyclopedia entries above.
While reading, consider possible answers to: "Why is THIS topic important/interesting for understanding sports history?"

In groups of 3, brainstorm on your topic using the following prompts:

Why is your assigned topic important or interesting?
What are some angles through which to explore your topic?
What are some keywords that might pull up resources on your broad topic and these angles?

Tip: The fewer words per idea, the better! (keywords are like tags)

Secondary Sources

Describe, discuss, interpret, comment upon, analyze, evaluate, summarize, and process primary source material.
Written/produced after the fact -- with the benefit of hindsight!
Include books, articles, documentaries, & more.

Search Tips:

If you have a specific name or concept, try searching it by itself!
Try out different keywords and combinations of keywords (broad and narrow)
Use search tricks:
- Connect ideas: olympics AND injuries
- Search for specific phrases: "cold war"
- Used wildcard to search different forms of a word: canad* or sport*

NOW: Practice searching for topic-related secondary resources in Main Library Search & SPORTDiscus.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains information on the topics of physical education, recreation and leisure studies, international sport and fitness, and other sport disciplines including sports medicine, physical therapy, sport psychology, exercise physiology, and dance. Includes access to journal and magazine articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, and web sites.
Coverage and Currency: 1930 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Primary sources

First-hand testimony or direct evidence
Created by witnesses and recorders who experienced the event(s) or condition(s)
Often created at the same time as the event/condition but include later-recorded recollections/perspectives

Search Tips:

Start simple (e.g., simple name searches = people or place names, specific event or sport names)
Narrow dates to the time period of interest
Follow-up on leads from secondary materials (e.g., does an article share a newspaper headline? does a documentary share a live-reporting clip?)

NOW: Try searching your topic in the two resources below (Library & Archives Canada / Globe & Mail)

Library and Archives Canada
Search government records, books, newspapers, images, and more!
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Globe & Mail
Coverage: 1844 - 2019. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

For a wide range of primary source databases (e.g., human rights, gender & sexuality, Indigenous):

Go to: https://library.macewan.ca/find-resources/find-database
Find by Type > Primary Historial Sources

Screenshot of library databases narrowed to Primary Historical Sources

MacEwan's Canadian History Subject Guide

Find additional primary and secondary sources on MacEwan Library's History Subject Guide - Primary Sources tab - Canadian History.

Newspaper Archives

Alberta Heritage Digitization Project - Newspaper Collection
Archival newspapers (starting in 1885) from Alberta.

Edmonton Journal (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the archive of the Edmonton Journal newspaper for the years 1903 to 2010. It includes articles, advertisements, obituaries, classified ads and editorial cartoons.
Coverage and Currency: 1903 - 2010
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Globe and Mail (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Contains historical, digitized and full-image content, minus the last three years, from the Globe and Mail newspaper. Includes news stories, photographs, maps, advertisements, classified ads, political cartoons, and birth and death notices.
Coverage and Currency: 1844 up to the most recent three years
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

New York Times Archive (1851-1922, 1923-Current)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index
Google Historical Newspapers
A collection of historical newspapers made available by Google. Try searching a specific concept across them all or drill down to search that concept within a specific newspaper.

Christian Science Monitor (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of international news and events. Topics include the arts, business, communications, culture, economics, government, history, journalism, political science, science and technology, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1908 - 2006
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Times (London, England) Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
Contains the digitized, full-image version of the complete content of The Times newspaper since its inception in 1785. Includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, and birth and death notice that ever appeared in The Times.
Coverage and Currency: 1785 - 2012
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Suggested Databases

America History and Life This link opens in a new window
Contains information on American and Canadian culture and history, from prehistory to the present. Subject areas include history, politics and government, philosophy, anthropology, sport and leisure, and science and medicine.
Coverage and Currency: 1954 to present.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
physical education, recreation & leisure. check the thesaurus for subject headings and how to indicate historical time periods
Coverage and Currency: 1930 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary Canadian resource that incorporates content from three databases: CBCA Business, CBCA Education, and CBCA Reference and Current Events. It includes scholarly journals, popular magazines, trade journals, newspapers, and broadcast transcripts, some of which are in French.
Coverage and Currency: 1982 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q) This link opens in a new window
Contains content from Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies, and other reference content, all with a Canadian focus.
Coverage and Currency: 1980 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Covers news and public interest events as reported in major Canadian newspapers, including the Edmonton Journal and the Calgary Herald. It also includes the electronic backfile for most Canadian newspapers and full access to articles, columns, editorials, and features that are updated daily.
Coverage and Currency: 1970s to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Canadian magazines, newspapers, images, and reference books, as well as leading international periodicals and reference books.
Coverage and Currency: 1900s to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Selected Library Resources

Canadian News Facts (Online)
E-journal
Canadian Journal of History of Sport (Online)
E-journal
Sport in Canada: A History
Book, call number: GV 585 M65 2013
Sports in North America: A Documentary History
Book (10 volumes), call number: GV 581 S655 1992

Physical Education and Health

Profile V2