Subject Guides: Anthropology: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Handbooks -- Online

General E-reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo provides access to subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials on a variety of topics and supports the development of information literacy skills through instructional articles and videos.
Coverage and Currency: 1999 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic reference books, primarily related to English Literature, but also including titles from Science and History. Includes the entire series of Novels for Students, Drama for Students, Short Stories for Students, and Poetry for Students, in addition to encyclopedias from other subject areas.
Coverage and Currency: 1997 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Contains dictionary entries from a short, general reference format to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. Includes detailed information across a broad subject range from the Oxford Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of other publishers’ scholarly works.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Provides students with a series of essays, videos, and images that present multiple sides of a current issue. It also offers guides to debating, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
Coverage and Currency: 20th century to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Why Use Encyclopedias?

Encyclopedias can provide you with background information on your topic. Use them to help you define your topic for an assignment, to gain a better understanding of concepts, and to discover useful keywords for further searching.

*Note: Entries from encyclopedias are usually not appropriate sources for your research paper or annotated bibliography assignments. This is the research that do before you start your research!

Anthropology

Profile V2

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Handbooks -- Online

General E-reference Sources

Why Use Encyclopedias?