Consists of an extensive library of Indigenous-made films. Subjects include education, Indigenous economies, governance, colonization, justice, law, rights, ecological knowledge, health, language, spirituality, and more.
Coverage and Currency: 1968 - 2017 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains streaming video of feature films, from action and adventure to comedy, crime, literary adaptation, thrillers, and more. Films are from the following studios: Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., 20th Century Studios, Alliance Films, Entertainment One, National Geographic and more.
Coverage and Currency: 1911 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Consists of streamed video titles, including popular and Canadian documentaries, the Criterion Collection and other classic films, world cinema, the Great Courses, HBO documentary films, and more.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains films produced by the National Film Board of Canada. It includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction, and interactive works.
Coverage and Currency: 1917 to present Conditions of Use: This is an Open Access resource available to all users. This database is not specifically licensed by MacEwan University Libraries.
A streamed video database with over 66,000 titles across many disciplines, focusing especially on anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music. Includes many Alexander Street video titles.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains Alexander Street's most-viewed BBC films from their larger collection of academic videos. The collection is interdisciplinary, with topics that span multiple disciplines such as history, anthropology, science, religion, health sciences, art, and more.
Coverage and Currency: 1965 - 2012 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Accessible collection that contains documentaries from television, radio, news reports, and archival material from CBC and Radio-Canada, including popular programs like The Currrent and The National.
Note that the MacEwan access code is MVZJ-ZBFY.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Consists of a searchable database of streamed educational videos. Subject include business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, and science. Also included are archival films and newsreels.
Coverage and Currency: 1980s to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
A cross-disciplinary collection looking at social justice issues and movements worldwide.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains live performances and full dramatic texts, as well as educational resources on the performing arts.
Chrome users will need the latest version to access content.
Coverage and Currency: 1954 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains Volumes I and II of the National Theatre collection. Consists of videos of plays and musicals as well as archival material related to the shows in their collection.
Coverage and Currency: 1881 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains videos of classical music performances, operas (with subtitles, and libretto and text when available), ballets, documentaries, live concerts, jazz performances, recitals, and musical tours of historic places.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Limited to 5 concurrent users. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
A collection of 150 curated concert video recordings ranging from jazz to soul, funk, hip-hop, rock, folk, electronic music, and global music. Historical artists represented include Miles Davis, Dizzy Gillespie, John Coltrane, and Nat King Cole, as well as more contemporary global music artists.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains streaming video of definitive performances of some of the world's leading plays (recorded while performed for a live theatre audience), and film documentaries. Covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history.
Coverage and Currency: 1930s to present. Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
DVDs
DVDs are on the 3rd floor interfiled with the book collection. Here are some useful shelf locations to know:
Feature Films - PN 1995 - PN 1997
Live Musical Theatre Performances and Operas - M1500's
Shakespeare Stage Performances - PR 2800's
Ancient Greek Literature and Drama (to 600 C.E) - PA 3050- PA 4505
