Subject Guides: Arts and Cultural Management: AGAD 100

AGAD 100 -- Databases -- Research Assignment

The sources listed below tend to provide a good start for exploring academic research on your topic. Additionally, if you are focusing on or including Indigenous perspectives, consult Lindsey Whitson's excellent list of databases and journals on the Indigenous Studies guide

America History and Life This link opens in a new window
Contains information on American and Canadian culture and history, from prehistory to the present. Subject areas include history, politics and government, philosophy, anthropology, sport and leisure, and science and medicine.
Coverage and Currency: 1954 to present.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
good source for academic and informal articles on the gamut of research questions
Coverage and Currency: 1982 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q) This link opens in a new window
good source for mostly informal articles, but some academic articles, on a broad range of research questions
Coverage and Currency: 1980 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
good start for questions about social issues around arts and arts funding
Coverage and Currency: 20th century to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Especially good for research questions on arts education in schools and the affect on individuals. Could provide research, statistics, theoretical foundation as well as academic support for your thesis.
Coverage and Currency: 1880 - 2022
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
good start for academic content on questions around the impact of arts and arts programming on the individual
Coverage and Currency: 17th century to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
good start for overview of connections between arts and culture and affects on the social. Hint: Add the keyword "social aspects" to other terms in your search.
Coverage and Currency: 1895 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Articles:

The Arts and Canada's Cultural Policy (pdf)

Cultural Infrastructure: A Chronology of Key Developments and Contexts (pdf)

Cultural Policy in Canada: A Brief History

Timeline of Social and Cultural Injustices in Canada (pdf)

Websites:

Creative City Network of Canada

Canada Council for the Arts - Act

Important Moments in Canadian Art History

History of Canadian Broadcasting

Hill Strategies Research Inc. - Canadian arts research: analysis, reports, stats and more.

Historical Overview - event impact on today

Possible sources for current news and magazine articles that link past cultural policy milestones to today's arts & culture events.

America History and Life This link opens in a new window
Contains information on American and Canadian culture and history, from prehistory to the present. Subject areas include history, politics and government, philosophy, anthropology, sport and leisure, and science and medicine.
Coverage and Currency: 1954 to present.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary Canadian resource that incorporates content from three databases: CBCA Business, CBCA Education, and CBCA Reference and Current Events. It includes scholarly journals, popular magazines, trade journals, newspapers, and broadcast transcripts, some of which are in French.
Coverage and Currency: 1982 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Covers news and public interest events as reported in major Canadian newspapers, including the Edmonton Journal and the Calgary Herald. It also includes the electronic backfile for most Canadian newspapers and full access to articles, columns, editorials, and features that are updated daily.
Coverage and Currency: 1970s to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q) This link opens in a new window
Contains content from Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies, and other reference content, all with a Canadian focus.
Coverage and Currency: 1980 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadiana This link opens in a new window
Documents Canadian history from European contact to the first half of the 20th century.Includes monographs, serials, and government publications. The collection is primarily composed of Canadian materials published before 1921.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Globe and Mail (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Contains historical, digitized and full-image content, minus the last three years, from the Globe and Mail newspaper. Includes news stories, photographs, maps, advertisements, classified ads, political cartoons, and birth and death notices.
Coverage and Currency: 1844 up to the most recent three years
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.